succulents and quilts

I can finally see the light at the end of this dark, exhausting, crafty tunnel. I’m almost ready to do the binding on my quilt. This is the only step that I’ve felt a little anxious about. I’m afraid that if it looks a little shoddy, the entire quilt won’t look finished.

—–

In other news… with this beautiful (okay, I know this might be a stretch..) weather we’ve had here in Portland, all I can think about (other than the quilt and the fact that we need to find a new apartment asap..) is gardening. I’m trying not to let my obsession with growing things sway my opinions on what type of home we move into next, but when I see “raised garden beds” or “ample sunlight” in the text of some of these Craigslist ads, I just can’t ignore them. Now of course when we go tour these homes I am completely blinded by the gardening space, front porch and large windows and I pay no notice to the very obvious water damage or the second “bedroom” that is no larger than a walk-in closet.

I need help. I need to come to the realization that I might not be able to have a vegetable garden for a few more years. It’s sad, but there will be no lush, vibrant baskets hanging from the eaves of our giant wrap-around porch anytime soon.

I might have found something today, something that might satisfy the urge to water and fertilize. I know that it’s not a vegetable, and I know that it’s not even very colorful, but they’re sooo beautiful and I’m sure you’ll agree that it’s a little more practical…

Succulents! Pretty low-maintenance and definitely doable in an indoor environment. I found this article today while leafing through Sunset magazine and sort of fell in love. That’s all.

4 thoughts on “succulents and quilts

  1. Succulents are AWESOME and yes they are super easy to grow and hearty and low maintenance. Like, they grow in the desert. AND the nursery next door to my apt. has the hugest selection of succulents ever, so you should come on over and visit me and we’ll succulent shop. I need one too, actually.

  2. Succulents…what wonderful creatures! When we lived in Southern California, we had tons of these in our yard…some of them were over 50 years old and huge!! When we moved, we brought some pieces of them in small pots. They lasted until we neglected them during one summer of too much camping.
    Don’t be afraid of bindings;) I really like doing them…it is the last quiet, personal point before a quilt is finished and passed on to the done pile.
    Happy Quilting!!!

Leave a Reply

